Wrestling Web Page of the Year – WrestlingReport.com

WrestlingReport.com was founded in 1995 by Bruce Closson, who serves as editor and webmaster for the website. Closson has developed a “fan-based website” which provides extensive coverage of college and high school wrestling in the East, as well as other national wrestling news. He has assembled a team of editors and reporters who provide extensive materials for each of the sections. His college editors include Allen Brown and Greg Henry. WrestlingReport.com covers all of the Div. I conferences in the East, develops national and “Atlantic” rankings, and is the official web page of the EWL and the EIWA conferences. The high school editors include Joe Demore, Carl Slim, Ken Wunderley and John Hoebel, with focus on prep wrestling throughout the region. The website has a very active bulletin board. In addition, recently WrestlingReport.com has posted video on its site, including key bouts and matches of interest to the readership. WrestlingReport receives considerable traffic in comparison to many other wrestling websites.

The National Wrestling Media Association is the professional organization for wrestling journalists nationwide, and has served the wrestling community since 1988. The organization represents hundreds of reporters, editors, photographers, broadcasters, webmasters and Sports Information Directors with a shared involvement in wrestling.

Membership in the NWMA costs just $20 a year. The current president of the NWMA is photographer John Johnson of Iowa.