Pennsylvania Collegiate Wrestler for the 2015 Season


  At the conclusion of each college wrestling season, WrestlingReport.com selects its Pennsylvania Collegiate Wrestler of the Year.  This annual recognition goes to a wrestler who is both a Pennsylvania native and competed for a Pennsylvania college or university.

  WrestlingReport, under the direction of Bruce Closson, today announced that the Pennsylvania Collegiate Wrestler of the Year for the 2015 season is Mitchell Port, from Bellefonte.  Port, a senior at Edinboro University, helped lead the Fighting Scots to the 2015 Eastern Wrestling League dual meet and tournament championships, and to a spectacular third-place team finish in the 2015 NCAA Championships.

  Mitchell Port had an excellent 2015 season.  Competing at 141 pounds, Port won the PSAC's (fourth time), grabbed the Midlands crown (his second Midlands title), hammered out a dual meet record of 17-1, placed first at the EWL Tournament (for the third time), was 2015 NCAA runnerup, and completed the year with an overall W/L record of 36-2.

 Mitchell Port's recent second-place finish in St. Louis rendered him a three-time NCAA All-American.  Prior to this season Port had finished second at the 2013 NCAA Tournament and placed third at the 2014 championship event.  He concluded his outstanding college career with a W/L mark of 132-17.

  Congratulations to Mitchell Port, WrestlingReport.com’s Pennsylvania Collegiate Wrestler of the Year for 2015.  Past winners of this WR.com recognition were:  Penn State’s Jeremy Hunter for the 2000 wrestling season; Edinboro University’s Josh Koscheck for 2001; Lehigh University team mates Rob Rohn and Jon Trenge (co-winners) for 2002; Lehigh University’s Troy Letters for both 2003 and 2004; Pitt-Johnstown’s Thad Benton for 2005; Phil Davis of Penn State for 2006; Pittsburgh’s Keith Gavin for 2007 and 2008; Edinboro’s Jarrod King for 2009 and 2010; Penn State’s Quentin Wright for 2011; Penn State’s Ed Ruth for 2012; Ed Ruth and Quentin Wright (co-winners) for the 2013 wrestling season; and Ed Ruth for the 2014 campaign.