WR Sites Daily News College High School WPIALwrestling.net

NCWA Announces All-Academic Team

Moderator: Coach78

NCWA Announces All-Academic Team

Postby Allen Brown » Thu Aug 20, 2015 5:45 pm

NCWA Announces All-Academic Team
08/20/2015 -

The NCWA, in conjunction with the national coaches association, honored 107 wrestlers as its top student-athletes for the 2014-15 season. This season’s NCWA All-Academic Team contains scholars from 44 schools from the NCWA’s combined Division I and Division II ranks. The women’s division honored eight student-athletes.

The coaches association sponsors the NCWA’s academic awards as well as those for the NCAA, NAIA and NJCAA. In order to be nominated to the NCWA All-Academic Team, student-athletes must maintain a cumulative grade-point average of 3.25 or higher, be a full-time student who has completed at least two full semesters, and must have competed at their conference championship tournament.

“It’s wonderful at the end of our season that we get to recognize our top student-athletes,” NCWA executive director Jim Giunta said. “We congratulate this year’s All-Academic Team for their fine work. As our association continues to grow, so too does the quality of students that stay involved in wrestling through the NCWA, be it as competitors, student coaches, or administrators. The NCWA has a very high regard for those who achieve in the classroom as well as in competition. These are our future leaders.”

The Apprentice School led the association with nine members on the All-Academic Team, more than twice the total of any other program. Alfred State, Grand Valley State, MIT, Central Florida, Florida, Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan and North Texas had four apiece.

The complete list of honorees is below, listed in alphabetical order by their school.


Name, Class
Akron – Al Caserta, Sr.; Frank Shaffer, Jr.
Alfred State – Bradley Haggerty, Jr.; Austin Keough, So.; Codie Nichols, So.; Kevin Thayer, So.
Amherst – Theo Agbi, Sr.
Apprentice School – Daniel Henson, So.; Ian Jones, Sr.; Chris Kennedy, Jr.; Kenny Lowry, Jr.; Kyle Lowry, Sr.; Jacob Michael, Jr.; Philip Porto, Jr.; Joshua Rodriguez, Jr.; Tyrell Watkins, So.
Bowling Green – Zach Goodman, Jr.
BYU – Kyle Lane, Sr.
Central Florida – Max Becks, Sr.; Christian Grillo, Sr.; Michael Seymour, Jr.; Tyrell Walker, Sr.
Central Washington – Zack McCarley, Gr.
Colorado – Eric Yamaguchi, So.
Concordia Univ. – Timothy Grimm, Sr.
Davenport Univ. – Connor Hughes, Jr.; Brant Schafer, So.
Dixie State – Brian Curtis, Sr.; Pierce Stowman, Jr.
East Carolina – Jared Nicholson, So.
Florida – Giovanni Santoro, Jr.; Trace Thome, So.; Jacob Wasserman, So.; Joshua Weinberg, Sr.
Georgia – John Cook, Jr.; Jake Jensen, Jr.; Travis Scott, Jr.; Jacob Tripp, Jr.
Georgia Southern – Najee Banks, So.; Josh Gaspard, So.
Glendale CC (Ariz.) – Quentin Grill, So.
Grand Valley State – Eric Dietz, Jr.; Joey Montney, Jr.; Bruce Rau, Jr.; Gabe Stepanovich, Jr.
James Madison – Stefan Haas, Sr.
Lafayette – Alex Amador, Sr.
Maine – Neal Harrison-Billiat, Jr.
Maryland-Baltimore County – Thomas Hsu, Gr.
Massachusetts – Cassian Corey, Jr.; Sean O’Connor, Jr.; Max Jacobs, Sr.
MIT – Andrew Esquivel, So.; Grant Genzman, Gr.; Joseph Lowman, So.; Jose Velarde, So.
Memphis – Jordan Greene, So.
Mercer – Jamal Reynolds, Jr.; Derek Wojcik, Sr.
Miami (Fla.) – Thien Tran, So.
Michigan – Humphrey Akujobi, Jr.; Patrick Basset, So.; Dustin Funk, So.; Zachary Vatalare, So.
Middle Tennessee – Eric Feuerbacher, Jr.; Jonathan Roberts, Sr.
Mott CC (Mich.) – Pellumb Kurtega, So.; Joe Roehl, So.
New Hampshire – Nic DiPierro, Jr.
North Florida – Stuart Maddox, Sr.
North Texas – Adam Gonsoulin, Jr.; Ashton Harris, Jr.; Mark Snow, Sr.; William Sterling, Gr.
Northeastern – Alex Vanarthos, So.
Penn State – John Novak, Sr.; Paul Schoenberg, So.
Penn State-DuBois – Andrew Bigley, So.
Penn State-Mont Alto – Clay Kocsis, So.
RPI – Omar Abdoun, Jr.; Will Bonagura, Sr.
Rowan – John Chillem, Gr.; Charlie Grab, Jr.
South Florida – Josh Jefferies, Sr.; Rory Roderick, So.
Temple – Marcus Newsom, Jr.; Michael Walsh, So.
Texas – Mitchell Lax, Jr.; Jonathan Malazinsky, Jr.
Texas-Arlington – Geovanny Alzate, Jr.
UCLA – Youssef Aref, So.; Freddie Hsiao, So.
USC – Nick Cegelski, Jr.; Armand Farrokh, Jr.
VMI – Daniel Bowman, So.
Washington State – Jerdon Helgeson, So.; Brandon Todd, Jr.
Wayne State – Matthew DeGarmo, Jr.

Name, School
Massachusetts – Natalie Solorio, Sr.
Middle Tennessee – Clarissa Ceffalo, So.
Ottawa Univ. – Marisol Arredondo, Jr.
Southwestern Oregon CC – Mikeyla Pico, So.; Franchesca Yberra, Jr.
Springfield (Mass.) Tech – Anna Ernst, So.; Rose Heurtelou, So.
UC Merced – Coral Quirino, Sr.
Allen Brown

Return to NCWA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests