WR Sites Daily News College High School WPIALwrestling.net

Campbellsville University Wrestling Awards

Moderator: GAH

Campbellsville University Wrestling Awards

Postby Allen Brown » Tue May 12, 2009 6:34 pm

^^^This Article was posted late April on the Campbellsville University athletic site. –Allen (WR.com)

Campbellsville, KY. - Campbellsville University head wrestling coach Franky James handed out awards during the team's annual awards dinner Sunday afternoon. The first award was given to Brandon Sellers who was named the Redshirt Freshmen of the year after working very hard behind the scenes this year helping his teammates prepare and preparing himself to have an impact in the future.The recipient of the Most Improved Wrestler Award was presented to the wrestler who made steady improvements over the course of the 2008-09 season. Spencer Adams worked through adversity in the first semester and finished his freshman campaign with a bang. Spencer placed 2nd at the EdSouth Invite, 3rd in the Eastern Qualifier tournament and 6th at the National Tournament to become an All-American at 184 pounds in his true freshman year.

Coach James also handed out the NAIA Daktronics Academic All-American Award to Jairus Murton for the second straight year. To be an Academic All American you must reach Junior or Senior status with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher. Campbellsville finished 3rd in the NWCA NAIA All Academic team standings with six individuals being named to the All Academic team.

Freshman Tommy Pretty received the Most Pins and Team Points award. Tommy was 1st at the King Open, 4th at Wisconsin Parkside, 2nd at Ohio Northern, 1st at the EdSouth Invitational, 3rd in the Eastern Qualifier Tournament and 8th at the National Tournament. Tommy finished with 19 pins on the year, 53 duel team points and a 31-13 overall record.

True freshman Johnny Papesh had an outstanding year and was the recipient of the Freshman of the Year Award. Johnny placed 1st at the King Open, 2nd at the Wisconsin Parkside Open, 5th at Ohio Northern, 3rd at EdSouth, 1st at the Eastern National Qualifier Tournament and 4th at the National Tournament. He finished the year with a 33-11 record.

Freshman Josh Ashbrook was recognized as the Champion of Character Award winner. Each year the team votes for the person who best represents the 5 core values of respect, responsibility, servant leadership, integrity and sportsmanship.

The Tigers top award winners this year were Senior Zach Flake and Freshman Matt David. Flake was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler after finishing his Senior season with a 2nd trip the National Finals match. Flake won the National title in the 2006-07 season, was an All American in 2007-08 and claimed the National Runner Up trophy this year after losing in OT of the National Finals match.

Freshman Matt David received the Commitment to Excellence award. The award is given to the wrestler who is most committed on and off the mat and in the classroom. Matt finished his freshman season with a 4th place finish in the Cumberland Open tournament and 3rd at the EdSouth Invitational. Matt was a National Qualifier with a 4.0 GPA this season.

The Tigers just completed the 5th season for the newly formed program. In the first 5 years, Campbellsville University has had 18 All-Americans, 1 National Champion, 9 Academic All-Americans and finished in the top 4 of the NWCA NAIA All Academic team standings each year, including a National Runner-Up finish in 2007. The Tigers will return All-Americans Johnny Papesh, Tommy Pretty, James Linker, Spencer Adams and National Qualifiers Matt David, Ruben Perez, Bryan Wells, Phillip Oudhuis and David Coffey for the 2009-10 season.
Allen Brown

Return to NAIA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest