WR Sites Daily News College High School WPIALwrestling.net

11/1/15 Two UNCP Wrestlers Place at The Citadel Open

Moderator: GAH

11/1/15 Two UNCP Wrestlers Place at The Citadel Open

Postby Allen Brown » Mon Nov 02, 2015 4:46 am

PEMBROKE – Sophomore Josh Brown won three-straight matches in the 125-pound tournament before succumbing in the title bout to register a runner-up finish, while Faris Teia tallied a fourth-place finish in the 165-pound tournament, to highlight action for the UNC Pembroke wrestling team on Saturday afternoon at The Citadel Open.

Brown picked up a pair of bonus-point victories, including a first-period pin (1:34) of Limestone's Vincent Oneto, on the way to the championship bout, but fell in the final match via a technical fall to Gardner Webb's Landon Loalbo. Teia dropped his opening bout of the day to Gardner Webb's Alex Bennett, but rebounded with five-straight victories before falling to Bennett again in the third place match.

Seven Braves registered multiple wins on the day, including a quintet of triumphs by Teia. Brown, Ryan Blackwell and newcomer Samuel Bartram each turned in three wins.

UNCP will return to action on Saturday when it heads home to host the 35th Annual Pembroke Classic at Lumbee Guaranty Bank Court. Wrestling action is scheduled to get underway at 9 a.m.

Olson Delisca (Southeastern) maj. dec. Caison Scott (UNCP) M 9-1
Caleb Smith (The Citadel-Unatt.) pinned Caison Scott (UNCP) F 2:38
Josh Brown (UNCP) pinned Vincent Oneto (Limestone) F 1:34
Josh Brown (UNCP) maj. dec. Emery Cline (Brewton-Parker) M 13-4
Josh Brown (UNCP) dec. Drew Turner (Greensboro) D 3-1
Landon Loalbo (Gardner Webb) tech. fall Josh Brown (UNCP) TF 18-1; 4:10

Jonathan Ryan (Campbell-Unatt.) dec. Jonathan Miller (UNCP-Unatt.) D 8-2
Jonathan Miller (UNCP-Unatt.) maj. dec. David Richards (Central Florida) M 17-5
Garrett Hancock (Gardner Webb-Unatt.) tech. fall Jonathan Miller (UNCP-Unatt.) TF 15-0; 5:18
Dustin Smith (UNCP-Unatt.) dec. Brady Whiteside (Spartanburg Methodist) D 4-0
Christopher Diaz Rivera (Limestone) dec. Dustin Smith (UNCP-Unatt.) D 10-3
Zach Nagurski (Brewton Parker-Unatt.) dec. Dustin Smith (UNCP-Unatt.) D 6-5

Ryan Blackwell (UNCP) dec. Dallas Roemer (Gardner Webb) D 5-4
Ryan Blackwell (UNCP) pinned Alfred Shavers (Shorter) F 2:50
Ryan Blackwell (UNCP) dec. Jordan Eley (Campbell-Unatt.) D 9-2
J.D. Stone (Campbell-Unatt.) dec. Ryan Blackwell (UNCP) D 6-3
Zack Barker (Campbell-Unatt.) dec. Ryan Blackwell (UNCP) D 6-2
Tyler Makosy (UNCP-Unatt.) dec. Joel Madak (The Citadel) D 5-4
Kendrich Portorreal (Limestone) dec. Tyler Makosy (UNCP-Unatt.) D 6-3
Tyler Makosy (UNCP-Unatt.) dec. Jacob May (Brewton-Parker) D 8-2
Demetre Kostis (Appalachian State) maj. dec. Tyler Makosy (UNCP-Unatt.) M 10-2
Samuel Bartram (UNCP-Unatt.) dec. Jacob May (Brewton-Parker) D 9-5
Terrence Dugay (Limestone) dec. Samuel Bartram (UNCP-Unatt.) D 7-5
Samuel Bartram (UNCP-Unatt.) dec. Joel Madak (The Citadel) D 9-5
Samuel Bartram (UNCP-Unatt.) Johnathan Johnson (Unattached) D 6-4
Samuel Bartram (UNCP-Unatt.) pinned Jordan Eley (Campbell-Unatt.) F 4:10
Kendrich Portorreal (Limestone) dec. Samuel Bartram (UNCP-Unatt.) D 4-0
Chad Hoff (UNCP) tech. fall Chase Spurling (South Florida) TF 16-0; 4:48
Chad Hoff (UNCP) med. forfeit Donoven Hough (Campbell-Unatt.) M FOR
Terrence Dugay (Limestone) dec. Chad Hoff (UNCP) D 6-1
Zack Barker (Campbell-Unatt.) dec. Chad Hoff (UNCP) D 1-0
Jake Smith (UNCP-Unatt.) dec. Joby Armenta (Gardner Webb) D 10-6
Sam Speno (NC State) tech. fall Jake Smith (UNCP-Unatt.) TF 16-0; 4:40
Demetre Kostis (Appalachian State) dec. Jake Smith (UNCP-Unatt.) D 8-6

Alex Bennett (Gardner Webb) dec. Faris Teia (UNCP) D 3-1
Faris Teia (UNCP) tech. fall Louis Robertson (Anderson) TF 19-3; 5:51
Faris Teia (UNCP) dec. Hayden Smith (UNCP-Unatt.) D 7-2
Faris Teia (UNCP) pinned Zachary Appleby (The Citadel) F 4:25
Faris Teia (UNCP) med. forfeit Elliott Morales (South Florida) M FOR
Faris Teia (UNCP) dec. Zach Perez (Brewton-Parker) SV 3-1
Faris Teia (UNCP) dec. Michael Binns (King) D 5-2
Alex Bennett (Gardner Webb) pinned Faris Teia (UNCP) F 5:00
Hayden Smith (UNCP-Unatt.) tech. fall Bradley Mewhorter (Spartanburg Methodist) TF 18-1; 6:17
Zach Colangelo (Davidson-Unatt.) dec. Hayden Smith (UNCP-Unatt.) D 5-4
Faris Teia (UNCP) dec. Hayden Smith (UNCP-Unatt.) D 7-2
Joe Remaklus (UNCP) pinned Zach Ramono (Clemson) F 2:00
Joe Remaklus (UNCP) dec. Zach Perez (Brewton-Parker-Unatt.) D 3-2
Michael Binns (King) pinned Joe Remaklus (UNCP) F 1:32
Alex Bennett (Gardner Webb) med. forfeit Joe Remaklus (UNCP) M FOR
Allen Brown


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests