WR Sites Daily News College High School WPIALwrestling.net

Iowa State's Weatherspoon & Hall Win Cyclone Open Titles

Moderator: GAH

Iowa State's Weatherspoon & Hall Win Cyclone Open Titles

Postby Allen Brown » Mon Nov 16, 2015 1:31 am

Weatherspoon And Hall Win Titles At Cyclone Open
Courtesy: cyclones.com
Release: 11/15/2015

AMES, Iowa – The No. 18 Iowa State wrestling team (2-1, 0-0 Big 12) hosted the annual Harold Nichols Cyclone Open on Sunday. The Cyclones placed 10 wrestlers in the top-6 at their respective weight classes.

Senior Earl Hall and redshirt junior Lelund Weatherspoon won individual titles for the Cardinal and Gold.

Kyle Larson (3rd) Dante Rodriguez (3rd) John Meeks (5th) Blayne Briceno (6th) Renaldo Rodriguez-Spencer (3rd) Logan Breitenbach (5th) Tanner Weatherman (2nd) Dane Pestano (3rd) Joe Scanlan (6th) and Quean Smith (2nd) all placed for head coach Kevin Jackson at the Open.

Hall recorded an unblemished 5-0 record en route to the 133-pound title. In his first three matches, he notched three bonus point victories with one tech-fall, a major-decision and a pin.

In the finals, he was pitted against Grand View’s Godwin Cutler. The match came down to the wire, but it was Hall who got the better of Cutler with a third-period takedown to secure the 4-3 dec. and the title.

Larson was a pinning machine at 125-pounds this afternoon. The West Des Moines, Iowa native, posted a 6-1 record on the day and won four matches by fall.

Just like Larson, Rodriguez pinned his way through his bracket. The sophomore recorded two falls, both coming in the first 25 seconds of the match.

At 165, Weatherman cruised through his first four matches, winning two by tech-fall, one by major-decision and one by fall.

In the championship match, Weatherman faced Clint Poster from St. Cloud State. Weatherman trailed for most of the match with Poster riding hard in the top position. In the third, Weatherman was finally able to get to his offense, but it was too little too late. He dropped a 7-6 dec. to finish runner-up.

Weatherspoon wrestled to a 5-0 record at the Cyclone Open, with two victories coming by major-decision. He won the 174-pound title by 3-2 dec. over South Dakota State’s David Kocer.

Pestano was another top-3 finisher for the Cyclones. He dropped his first match of the day, but showed resilience in wrestling all the way back to a third-place finish. He went on to win his next six matches, including a 7-3 dec. over Minnesota’s Dalton Lunde in the consolation finals.

Smith also wrestled in the title match this afternoon. The 285-pounder started the day 4-0 with two wins by fall and a win by major-decision.

He led his finals match going into the third period, but Austin Goergen from St. Cloud State rallied. In the third, Smith led 11-7, but Goergen scored on a reversal and eventually turned Smith to get the fall in 5:06.

The Cyclones will have a brief break from competition, but will hit the mat again on Nov. 29 as they take on the Iowa Hawkeyes. This year’s Cy-Hawk dual will begin at 2 p.m. at Hilton Coliseum.
Allen Brown

Return to BIG 12

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest